Council Takes First Step to Amending Prop 414


Facebookmail

March 8, 2017

The Flagstaff City Council. Top row (left to right): Jim McCarthy, Charlie Odegaard, Eva Putzova, and Scott Overton. Bottom row (left to right): Celia Barotz, Mayor Coral Evans, Vice Mayor Jamie Whelan.

The Flagstaff City Council. Top row (left to right): Jim McCarthy, Charlie Odegaard, Eva Putzova, and Scott Overton. Bottom row (left to right): Celia Barotz, Mayor Coral Evans, Vice Mayor Jamie Whelan.

On Tuesday, March 7, the City Council voted (6-1) to approve an amendment to Proposition 414. This amendment will prevent the $2/hour wage hike slated for this July 1 that was created by the combined passage of state Proposition 206 and local Proposition 414. You can read the full text of the draft amendment here. Approval of the amendment requires a second vote by the council, which will take place on March 21. 

The amendment furthers the intent of Proposition 414 by adding an additional raise, to $15.50/hour in 2022. It also delays the cost of living provision, which states that Flagstaff’s minimum wage shall be $2/hour above the state minimum wage, until 2021. This is the provision that would create a wage increase to $12/hour in Flagstaff on July 1, 2017.

The revised raise schedule is as follows (additions to the original proposition are in bold; deletions are struck through):

15-01-001-0003 Minimum Wage

  1. Employers shall pay employees no less than the minimum wage, which shall be not less than:
  1. $10.50 an hour or $2 above the state minimum wage as provided for under Section 23-363, Arizona Revised Statutes, whichever is greater, on and after July 1, 2017;
  1. $11 an hour or $2 above the state minimum wage as provided for under Section 23-363, Arizona Revised Statutes, whichever is greater, on and after January 1, 2018;
  1. $12 an hour or $2 above the state minimum wage as provided for under Section 23-363, Arizona Revised Statutes, whichever is greater, on and after January 1, 2019;
  1. $13 an hour or $2 above the state minimum wage as provided for under Section 23-363, Arizona Revised Statutes, whichever is greater, on and after January 1, 2020;
  1. $15 an hour or $2 above the state minimum wage as provided for under Section 23-363, Arizona Revised Statutes, whichever is greater, on and after January 1, 2021.
  1. $15.50 an hour or $2 above the state minimum wage as provided for under Section 23-363, Arizona Revised Statutes, whichever is greater, on and after January 1, 2022.